Golden Rule Obama

“But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken. For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.” – Matt 12:36-37

Today, a quick hodge-podge of notes on “the issue that won’t go away” – the debate on gay marriage and some of the argumentation.

Golden Rule Obama …

In his interview with ABC on the issue, Obama made noises about his support for gay marriage being based on the Golden Rule. Now, as a technical matter, I think I agree. That is, there is a significant space between moral purity and public policy, and there should be, and one can support a public policy based simply on “treat others as you wish to be treated” that is not the same as an endorsement on a moral basis. (This is not to say that Obama hasn’t said in other times and places that he does support a homosexual lifestyle as morally acceptable.)

The problem with this tact, for the president, is that the Golden Rule has some pretty far-reaching consequences. If you don’t think that I, as a citizen and member of this democracy, should prohibit behaviors amongst my neighbors that don’t directly impact me – that they should be free to live their lives becauseĀ I want to be free to live my life (Golden Rule & all) – then I agree. Of course, this means that I, as a citizen and member of this democracy, should also not place a yoke of taxation on my neighbors to pay for benevolence programs that I find appealing – they should be free to live their own lives. I shouldn’t place a yoke of “unfunded liabilities” on my neighbors’ children to pay for my future retirement – they should be free to live their own lives.

So we’re with you, Mr. president. We’re glad you’ve finally come around to supporting freedom and the Golden Rule as a basis for public policy in a democracy. We shall anxiously await your speeches and change of platform on these other Golden Rule issues.

Gay Okay Chenoweth …

Speaking of “endorsement on a moral basis,” somebody pointed out to me that Christian actress Christian Chenoweth came out as being, as a good friend put it: “Gay Okay” (story here).

St. Augustine said (it’s a quote we’ve used before): “If you believe what you like in the gospels, and reject what you don’t like, it is not the gospel you believe, but yourself.” That about sums it up. The Bible (old and new testament) are clear in their declaration that homosexuality is a sin. This is not a discussion point. If you believe it is not a sin, then you discard the Bible. “But we believe some of it” – fine, you believe “some” of the Bible. But you believe it not on the basis of any moral authority outside of yourself. You believe it based on your own authority. If you’re prepared to make a stand on that, then by all means …

The Words in Red …

“But Jesus never said anything about homosexuality.” Well, we don’t have any record of what he may or may not have said on the subject (John noted that Jesus said and did many things that were not recorded). But then Jesus never condemned child sacrifice either (as the boys over at “free republic” note). I suppose, if Jesus never mentioned it, then it must be OK, right? I mean, if I feel like it’s OK and Jesus never directly condemned it with His own words written in red, then who are you to tell me otherwise? Oh, wait, the Bible decries child-sacrifice all over the place.

OK, honestly, I really do intend to move on to another issue, but this one keeps coming back. Perhaps tomorrow we’ll touch on the new narrative regarding “good” capitalism versus “bad” capitalism, or the self-aggrandization that is feel-good public policy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

