What are your principles worth?

Everybody has a price … or so they say. My father was once asked if his business was for sale, to which he responded “fella, for the right price everything I have is for sale except my wife & kids.” There’s a nice description in there of the silliness of sentimentality and a recognition of what truly has value. Things are readily sold, regardless of how much they “mean” to us, as long as the price is sufficiently high. However, there are some things that are beyond purchase; some things that are of eternal value and beyond any earthly payoff – whether money, power, or fame.

We all hope, deep inside, that the same is true of us. We hope that there are certain principles we hold that are beyond bribe, payoff, or trade – beyond any earthly good. When it really comes down to it, who knows though? The Mighty Mighty Bosstones exclaimed in “The Impression That I Get” – “I’m not a coward, I’ve just never been tested. I’d like to think that if I was I would pass.” Don’t we all? We all like to think that if put to the test we would pass. But, I suppose it’s not so easy.

Peter said he would never deny the Lord, and then denied Him three times that very night. When push comes to shove, how far would we really go on principle?

We now know the answer for representative Bart Stupak. The man who would not relent on his pro-life stance gave way for just over $700,000 in stimulus payouts for his district. Now, I don’t want to pass too much judgment here – as I’ve said before we never know what we will do when it really comes down to it. I would have hoped that a principled defense of life was worth more than $700,000 though. I guess not – not if you’re a “pro-life democrat”. I wonder if such a thing even exists anymore. Perhaps it should be “pro-life unless you have $700,000 in your pocket democrat”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What are your principles worth?

  1. Michelle says:

    So, I read that ol’ Bart Stupak is going to announce his retirement today. Apparently, he’s getting too much opposition from both sides after his big flip flop on the health care bill. Who could have seen that coming?? (the opposition, I mean)

Leave a Reply

